Illiniwek’s Last Dance

chief.gifThe prolonged Pro-Chief / Anti-Chief battle at my alma mater seems to be winding down… the Fighting Illini’s mascot will be performing his last dance. To be honest, I had my opinions about the controversy when I was in college, but never took an active stance. It’s sort of like the Confederate flag debate… some see it as a symbol of racism and oppression, others see it as a symbol of heritage and pride. Looking past my personal beliefs, I can empathize with both sides.

0 Responses to “Illiniwek’s Last Dance”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter feed

  • Regained access of my Twitter account. Spam deleted; back to semi-annual tweets. 4 years ago
  • RT @nprnews: 'Million Hoodie March' Planned In New York To Protest Killing Of Trayvon Martin n.pr/GJCOhC 5 years ago
  • I haven't had a @Schmendricks bagel since the Super Bowl. I think you need to make more... and I'd like to request an 'everything' bagel. 5 years ago

