Rediscovering music

One of my favorite pastimes in my early to mid 20’s was pirating music… When I first moved to San Francisco I had some friends who lived in a flat in Lower Haight, the heart of urban gentrification at the time. Every Sunday morning we would congregate in their living room for a lazy day of reading, recovering, talking, and file sharing. It wasn’t all about getting music for free… It was more about having access to a gold mine of music, sampling new sounds with virgin ears, and rediscovering ourselves through a newfound love. All without incurring a permanent cost.

Over the past few years I’ve dropped my piracy habit… mostly because it’s become increasingly difficult (I confess) and also because I do want to reward artists and producers for compositions I enjoy. Friends, TV/movie features, and radio (bleh) have become my primary sources of new music… until now. Thanks to advances in social music, I can once again safely explore uncharted ground.

Pandora is a site I’ve used in the past and while I think it’s incredibly promising, it needs a few key features. For one, they should just scour your music directory to save you the effort of typing in your favorite artists/songs (maybe this is in the works). Also, they’re still working on building out their catalog of music… for example, they have no matches for ‘A.R. Rahman‘ – one of the greatest and most prolific Indian composers of our time. They did, however, recently enable search for user generated stations and I immediately found a couple of stations I love. Unfortunately there seems to be no indication of what song is currently playing… or any way to stop it… obviously still a work in progress.

I tried iJigg.com today for the first time and was pleased to discover that the top (most popular) song listed is “Ya Rabba” from the new hindi film Salaam-E-Ishq. Beautiful song… Although I think this site is supposed to allow artists to upload their own, original music. In any case, this is probably a good site to track.

I’m definitely excited about the prospects of finding new incredible music… I even added a ‘Music’ category so I can share my discoveries with my blahg readers!

4 Responses to “Rediscovering music”


  1. 1 Zaid February 7, 2007 at 5:31 am

    Hey Seema,

    Thanks for blogging about iJigg. We’re all about getting folks to discover “incredible music” as you put it:) In upcoming updates we’ll continue to make that easier and more fun.

    -Zaid
    co-founder & ceo
    iJIgg.com

  2. 2 anil February 8, 2007 at 3:08 am

    gud …dunno if u have already been there ..seen that ..but amoeba music (haight n ashbury) is a physical location (rather then the net) where you can find lots of stuff …new…old…unheard …et al …

    -A
    a music seeker ….

  3. 3 seema February 8, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Thanks for your comment, anil. I’ve been to amoeba many times – great assortment of music. I think the difference with the online tools is that many are trying to recommend music based on your existing preferences… A single superhuman music fanatic could probably do the same in the offline world, but the web-based apps give you access to a world of fanatics. :)

  4. 4 Denise Robasciotti March 15, 2007 at 1:06 am

    Thank for making this valuable information available to the public.


Leave a Reply

Twitter feed

  • Regained access of my Twitter account. Spam deleted; back to semi-annual tweets. 4 years ago
  • RT @nprnews: 'Million Hoodie March' Planned In New York To Protest Killing Of Trayvon Martin n.pr/GJCOhC 5 years ago
  • I haven't had a @Schmendricks bagel since the Super Bowl. I think you need to make more... and I'd like to request an 'everything' bagel. 5 years ago

