Art I love: Gerhard Richter

I’ve decided to dedicate posts to art that moves me.  I won’t attempt to write a perspective on the pieces, or the artists.  I’m mostly posting them to build my own catalog of captivating work.

Here’s the first: Gerhard Richter.richter_descending I saw his work on display at the SF Moma a few years ago.  I was drawn in by the photographic nature of his paintings, but fell in love with their ethereal quality… To me his paintings depict each scene as it would appear in a dream segment.  I’m completely mesmerized by his work and would love to watch him putting brush to canvas.

Anyway, the painting included here is one of my favorites: “Frau, di Treppe herabgehend (Woman Descending the Staircase)”.  The original stands at about 6 feet in length.   And it’s stunning.

You can see more of his work here but I highly recommend catching a Richter exhibit and experiencing his genius in person.

Leave a Reply

Twitter feed

  • Regained access of my Twitter account. Spam deleted; back to semi-annual tweets. 1 year ago
  • RT @nprnews: 'Million Hoodie March' Planned In New York To Protest Killing Of Trayvon Martin n.pr/GJCOhC 2 years ago
  • I haven't had a @Schmendricks bagel since the Super Bowl. I think you need to make more... and I'd like to request an 'everything' bagel. 2 years ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

